Twilight by Stephanie Meyers: Why Do So Many Hate It?

Twilight

When I went to the bookstore to buy this book, I didn’t want to be seen in public with it. When all the kids were gone from the teen section, I quickly grabbed the novel and handed it to my friend so that she can buy it for me. I didn’t want to see the look on the cashier’s face when I handed it to him. I refused to bring it to school and to be seen with it. So, only after I shut the door and closed the blinds tightly did I dare to open it. I know that that seems a little overdramatic, but I didn’t want to face people’s reactions. I know that no one means to do this, but we all at some point have judged people we barely knew based on the kinds of books they read in public. When we see them with a classic, well-known novel, the presumptuion is that they are intellectual and brainy. If someone is spotted with a sci-fi novel, they are thought to be geeky. Well, if someone is seen with a book like Twilight? We all know about the mental image popping up in our brains.

For some, Twilight is just a good novel with no bad connotations. For those who have this image, I applaud you. However, for people who have learned to hate it, like me, the image is that of a brainless teenage girl who can’t read well enough to try out different novels and can’t formulate a sentence without using the acronym “OMG” somewhere in it. I am not trying to offend anyone; this is just the thought that comes to my uninformed brain. I am sure that those of you who enjoy this book are actually lovely and intelligent, but that was my stupid stereotype.

So, you can understand the horror I felt when I realized what I had done just after I posted the Dreaded Book Tag, the post that made me get Twilight in the first place. I made so many excuses to not get the book, but after some time I finally realized that I had no personal opinion on the book. All of my thoughts were placed in my brain from the media and friends, not by my own conscience. If I don’t even know about this book, then who am I to judge it? I think that that revelation gave me the courage to pick it off of the bookshelf.

Once I started reading it, all the criticism started flowing through my brain. I kept trying to find a fault with the novel, so I finally had to tell my brain to shut up. I knew the only way I would get through this is by reading this as if I had never heard of it. So, that’s exactly what it did. And, when I turned the last page of the novel, I felt… sadness. Sadness that it was over. Sadness that I have left the world of Bella and Edward. I was prepared to feel disappointment, anger, frustration- anything but that.

I’m not saying that I loved the book, because there were some things about it that irritated me (I will post a rant on that, as well). However, I didn’t hate it either, because the story was actually very enticing to me. I thought about how everyone in the teenage world seem to have such strong opinions about it. They either love the book, or they loathe it. I actually have mixed feelings about this novel.

However, regardless of how I feel about it, I recommend that EVERYONE reads it. People like me, who have sworn off this book for no reason other than society, need to open their eyes. Those thoughts aren’t yours, especially if you haven’t even read it. If you have read it and still hate it, be respectful about it. The novel isn’t horrible, because there are die-hard fans, and no one, no matter how brainless they are, would love a story so fiercely if it was that bad.

After sitting in my bed for a while, struck with a bout of depression, my mind suddenly relaxed with the realization that there are more Twilight books where that came from. Regardless of how much I end up hating the series, you can bet on it that I will read the entire thing, because I have admitted that I was wrong. My assumptions were totally rude, since the novel is actually really enjoyable.

I think that this Dreaded Book Tag has been doing me a lot of good, because it’s opening my eyes to all the false cruelty I have inflicted over such harmless books. After this enlightening experience, I encourage you to join me in my tag. Find a novel that you have sworn off and try reading it. Even if you only get past a couple of chapters, you’ll learn that no matter what the world thinks, a personal opinion on everything is crucial. And, while you do that, I’ll be reading New Moon, the second book in the series, in broad daylight. I’ll carry it around for the world to see, regardless of the assumptions others make about me, because I am not blind anymore, free at last.

3 thoughts on “Twilight by Stephanie Meyers: Why Do So Many Hate It?

  1. alreinhardt says:

    Wow, I haven’t heard of that tag before, but that is an awesome one. I used to love The Vampire Diaries series, despite knowing they’re awful & embarrassing to be seen reading. I think it’s probably just become cool to hate on those types. Like how everybody hates Nickelback, they’re a crap band, but they’re not thaat bad. There are more that are worse.

    Like

    • shriyabeesam says:

      You’ve probably never heard of the tag because I created it. I posted a link on my post if you wanted to check it out, and I would LOVE it if you could join me on this fun challenge! I think that you shouldn’t be ashamed of reading the books you love. Next time someone gives you a judgy stare while you’re reading a book, just flash a smile at them, because they don’t know what they’re missing out on!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

