The Bookshelf Scavenger Tag

I was tagged to do this post by the wonderful Bhramori, whose blog I love to death! Check her out if you haven’t already for her fun book tags and relatable posts!

1. Find an author’s name or title with the letter ‘Z’ in it.

the great gatsby

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald! I’ll have to admit, this question took a lot of scrounging around my bookshelf.

2. Find a classic.

pride and prejudice

I have too many classics to count! However, since the question only calls for one classic, I’m going to have to choose Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, because that novel is my absolute favorite.

3. Find a book with a key on its cover

when you reach me

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead has a key on the cover, although it isn’t the central object.

4. Find something on your bookshelf that’s not a book.

My bookshelf also has lip balm, a few rubber bands for my hair, a few pencils, pens, and highlighters, a small teddy bear, and a Hermoine Granger wand that I got from the Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida.

5. Find the oldest book on your shelf.

the adventures of tom sawyer

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain. I got it from a secondhand bookstore, and the pages are yellowed and frayed. However, I find old books to be the most appealing, because they have a cozy feel to them. Plus, it’s hard to forget about the aromatic scent they develop!

6. Find a book with a girl on the cover.

delirium

I have way too many of those to list them all out, so I’m just going to pick Delirium by Lauren Oliver. I thought that the book was really good as I was reading it. Now, in retrospect, I realize that the novel is filled with a lot of fluff and doesn’t have a solid enough plot to be interesting.

7. Find a book that has an animal on the cover

eragon

I’m going to say Eragon by Christopher Paolini. A dragon counts as an animal, right?

8. Find a book with a male protagonist.

every day  american sniper

Every Day by David Levithan and American Sniper by Chris Kyle. I have a couple more books with male protagonists, but these were my favorites!

9. Find a book with gold lettering

a journey to the center of the earth

I actually thought I wouldn’t find this one! However, after a few minutes of digging, I came across A Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne. Although I was a bit bored by 50,000 Leagues Under the Sea, this book was very gripping, adventurous, and daring, all characteristics I enjoy in the novels I read.

10. Find a book with only words/letters on the cover.

the walled city

The Walled City by Ryan Graudin seems to fit these requirements. If you haven’t read this novel already, I suggest you go get it from your local bookstore ASAP, because it’s a must-read!

11. Find a book with illustrations in it.

diary of a wimpy kid

The Diary of A Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney has so many amazing illustrations! Usually I don’t like it when a book has pictures, but in this novel the drawings only make it funnier and more realistic!

12. Find a diary (true or fictional).

catherine called birdy

Catherine, Called Birdy was written as a fictional diary. I actually really enjoyed this novel as a light-read, and I loved reading it right before bedtime. It was very soothing but entertaining!

13. Find a book written by someone with a common name (for e.g. Smith)

twinmaker

Twinmaker by Sean Williams, since Sean Williams seems to be a common name. This novel seemed like it would be good at first but got progressively worse as it went on. I honestly don’t recommend it.

14. Find a book that has a close-up of something on its cover

pretties

My version of Pretties by Scott Westerfield has a close-up of a guy and girl’s faces on the cover. I actually like the other version of the cover to this one, since this one is kind of off-putting.

15. Find a non-YA book

the hunt for the red october

The Hunt for the Red October by Tom Clancy is an adult action novel. I got it after watching the movie, and it’s been really interesting so far! I haven’t finished it, but I feel like it’s the perfect book for those who love action and don’t enjoy romance very much. If you enjoy the Bourne Identity Series, the Sum of All Fears, the Jack Ryan Series, or the Patriot Games movies, then I suggest that you check out their book counterparts, which are equally gripping!

Well, I guess that wraps up our book tag today! I also need to tag a few of you lovely people to do this wonderful challenge. I tag:

  • If We Shadows Have Offended
  • Swxftbooks
  • Umbreen
  • Commas and Ampersands
  • Sripurna
  • HusbandAndHusband
  • thetimetravelingwriter
  • The Happy Typewriter
  • aditiyunal
  • Romance for the Beach
  • Angelized 1st

I have two more tags to post, along with a review for the Reed Queen by Victoria Aveyard. Until then, au revoir!

3 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Scavenger Tag

Leave a Reply

